Album: Moodswings
Artist: Robin Deeter

Robin Deeter has just completed her third album and the finished project is a totally enjoyable musical production that includes the many moods of Western Swing. This class album of 12 tunes was produced by one of Western Swing's top musicians of this era, the album's fiddle and mandolin player, Randy "Snuffy" Elmore.

Others heard on this album are a couple of former Asleep At The Wheel piano players. Floyd Domino is the album's piano player and Chris Booher is playing rhythm guitar. Steel guitar Hall of Fame inductee Tommy Morrell is heard throughout the album playing his usual steel mastery. The same can be said about the album's great lead guitarist, Rich O'Brien. The rhythm section of this Dallas/Fort Worth "A" team is comprised of Greg Hardy on drums and Mark Abbott on acoustic bass. They might be the best in their business.

The album opens with a Western Swing tribute tune that did quite well for country music's Vern Gosdin, Tight As Twin Fiddles and then goes on to the first of five tunes borrowed from the very talented Texas singer/songwriter, David Price, Unsung Hero Of The Honky Tonk. Other tunes from David are Dang These Texas Honky Tonks, You've Touched My Heart, They Don't Play Country Music Anymore and Texas Sound. Another wonderful singer/songwriter is Montana's Myra Pearce. Robin includes three from Myra, Oops!There Goes Another Man, the album title and very probably a hit song Moodswings and Just For The Fun. Another fine singer/songwriter who shines on his Western Swing compositions is Terry Smith. Robin does two from Terry, the Texas dance hall shuffle The Next Month of Sundays and the swinging Texas Roots. A real treat is Robin singing one written in part by Dean Dillon, Honk If You Honky Tonk.

The album can be obtained for $15 (shipping included) from Robin Deeter, 18463 Blueberry Lane Apt. C-301, Monroe, WA 98272. It can also be ordered off Robin's web site at

Mike Gross, WVOF-FM, Fairfield, CT
April 27, 2004